2020-06-02 10:00:00 2020-06-09 12:15:00 America/Los_Angeles Atlantic Summit 2020 Virtual,

Tuesday June 2, 2020
10:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.

Tuesday June 9, 2020
10:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.


How does Atlantic Canada need to pivot priorities for regional economic growth and immigration for post-pandemic prosperity? Atlantic Summit 2020 brings together leaders in policy development, government, business, education and social services for a forward-looking exploration of what it will take to confront old challenges compounded by new crisis.
About the Event

Atlantic Canada has been called a “canary in a coalmine” for widespread challenges with workforce retention, skills and labour shortages, aging populations, regional disparities and rural competitiveness in Canada and the world. The region has been home to wide-ranging policy innovation in recent years as public and private sector leaders tackled persistent challenges to economic growth and long-term prosperity.  

Now, as those same leaders in the region and across Canada prepare to rebuild after the shut-down required to contain the COVID-19 pandemic, are the priorities still the same? 

This dialogue will draw on PPF’s 3-year Atlantic Revitalization project, funded by the Government of Canada, which tracks obstacles and innovative responses in Atlantic immigrationeconomic and business growth and long-term regional prosperity.  

All content will be virtual and available to registered participants. You may register at any time before June 9 to receive your access link to the conference. Please note that the conference times are in ADT. 

The conference will run from 10 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. ADT. (9 a.m. to 11:15 a.m. EST). 

Bonus networking features are available to participants who register before End of day, May 26.   

Read our recent publications related to conference topics here. 

Lightning Talks Episode 1: Entrepreneurialism Takes a Village

00:00 Kevin McKague
Measuring Entrepreneurial Ecosystems In Nova Scotia, Atlantic Canada and Internationally

7:22 Cassandra Dorrington
Leveraging Diversity to Strengthen Canada’s Supply Chain

12:54 Janet Moser
Building an Entrepreneurial Future with Immigration and People

21:10 Dr. Mary Kilfoil
“Let’s Get Busy Building Barns”: The Role of Universities in Building Vibrant Entrepreneurship Ecosystems

29:17 Ellen Farrell
Costless to Mature Firms, Priceless to Startups

36:09 Jake Hirsch-Allen
LinkedIn Insights on Career Transitions & Entrepreneurial Pathways

The Honourable David C. Dingwall
Francis McGuire
Sean Speer
Jane Taber
Catrina Tapley
Vianne Timmons
Shannon Wells
Laurel Broten
Zita Cobb
The Honourable Dennis King
Alex Leblanc
Jeffrey MacTavish
Sean Speer
Annika Voltan
David Campbell
Dr. Wendy Cukier
Cassandra Dorrington
Tony Fang
Ellen Farrell
Jake Hirsch-Allen
Dr. Mary Kilfoil
Jason Lee
Kendra MacDonald
Kevin McKague
Janet Moser
Sam Sanderson
For more information, please contact Heba Elhalees, Event Coordinator at helhalees@ppforum.ca
Back to top