2019-04-11 07:00:00 2019-04-11 16:00:00 America/Los_Angeles Canada Growth Summit 2019 Metro Toronto Convention Centre,255 Front St W, Toronto, ON M5V 2W6

Thursday April 11, 2019
7:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Metro Toronto Convention Centre
255 Front St W, Toronto, ON M5V 2W6

Deputy opposition leader, the Hon. Lisa Raitt and Minister Navdeep Bains of ISED, along with a stellar lineup of leaders such as BlackBerry's John Chen as we confront Canada's economic challenges and opportunities. Watch highlights from the Toronto Metro Convention Centre - More coming soon!
About the Event

Watch highlights from the day


See a detailed agenda, speaker info and more

How Canada Can Compete Globally

PPF’s Canada Growth Summit has fast become a Canadian institution, a can’t-miss event on Canada’s economic policy calendar that brings together more than 400 of the top minds in policy, business, investment and government.

2019 Canada Growth Summit

In 2019, the Growth Summit focused on how Canada can compete globally. We had a stellar lineup of thinkers, doers and deciders to discuss and debate the issue, including:

  • The Hon. Lisa Raitt, Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition, will discuss Canadian competitiveness with BNN Bloomberg anchor Amanda Lang.
  • The Hon. Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, will join Murad Al-Katib and Lorraine Mitchelmore to discuss how Canada’s old industries are new again
  • John Chen, CEO of BlackBerry, will provide the inside track on how he has reimagined Canada’s tech icon
  • Canadian economic policy heavyweights Robert Asselin and Sean Speer will present a bipartisan approach to rethinking Canada’s global competitiveness
  • Tashia Batstone, Senior VP of CPA Canada, Deloitte’s Zabeen Hirji and Six Nation Polytechnic’s Rebecca Jamieson will look at real case studies from the changing world of work
  • Daniel L. Doctoroff, Chairman & CEO of Sidewalk Labs, will share his thoughts on Canada and the 21st Century City Reimagined

For more information or if you have any questions related to Growth Summit, please contact Husvini Poolay.

Thank you to our lead partners:

CIBC logo microsoft

 Thank you to our supporting partners:

  BDC logo
CPPIB deloitte

Thank you to our media partners:


April 10 – Canada Growth Summit Expert Table dinners

Our Canada Growth Summit Expert Table dinners were held throughout Toronto’s downtown on April 10.

Back by popular demand, these dinners offered a select number of Growth Summit registrants an opportunity – on a first-come, first-served basis – to dine and discuss growth-related issues with a range of leading subject-matter experts. Gain insight into the growth and the competitiveness agenda in Canada and globally. Highlights from last year include David Dodge, the former Governor of the Bank of Canada, speaking on “What Canada Needs Next”.

Experts for this year include:

  1. David Dodge, former governor of the Bank of Canada
  2. Ambassador David MacNaughton, Canada’s Ambassador to the United States and Janice Stein, Professor, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy
  3. Clint Davis, Chief Executive Officer, North35 Capital Partners and Kim Baird, Former Chief of the Tsawwassen First Nation, and Consultant, Kim Baird Strategic Consulting
  4. Chantal Hébert, columnist with the Toronto Star and Andrew Coyne, columnist with the National Post
  5. Stephen S. Poloz, Governor, Bank of Canada
  6. Goldy Hyder, President and Chief Executive Officer, Business Council of Canada and Lorraine Mitchelmore, Chair, Resources of the Future; Former President and Country Chair of Shell Canada
  7. Dr. Kathryn Hume, Director of Business Development, Borealis AI
  8. Hon. Jean Charest, Partner, McCarthy Tétrault LLP and former premier of Québec
  9. Dr. Mona Nemer, Chief Science Advisor, Government of Canada and Dr. Alan Bernstein, President and Chief Executive Officer, CIFAR
  10. Leo W. Gerard, International President, United Steelworkers, and Ilse Treurnicht, Former CEO, MaRS Discovery District
  11. Peter Wallace, Secretary of the Treasury Board and John Knubley, Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
  12. Robert Asselin, Senior Global Director of Public Policy, BlackBerry and Sean Speer, Senior Fellow in Public Policy, University of Toronto
  13. Travis Hester, President and Managing Director, GM Canada

For more information or if you have any questions related to Expert Table dinners, please contact Bev Hinterhoeller

PPF is grateful to our dinner hosts for their support: 




April 11 – 32nd Annual Testimonial Dinner

The Summit led up to PPF’s 32nd Annual Testimonial Dinner, which took place on the evening of April 11, 2019. This year we honoured Rona Ambrose, Alan Bernstein, George Cope, Pierre-Marc Johnson and Farah Mohamed. Maayan Ziv was our Emerging Leader Award recipient and Karyn Pugliese was our Hyman Solomon journalism Award winner.

More on Testimonial Dinner & Awards 2019



Craig Alexander
Murad Al-Katib
Robert Asselin
Tashia Batstone
Yoshua Bengio
Julie Cafley
John Chen
Janet De Silva
Daniel L. Doctoroff
Victor G. Dodig
Edward Greenspon
James W. Hinton
Zabeen Hirji
Anne-Marie Hubert
Alison Loat
Laura McGee
Royce Mendes
Lorraine Mitchelmore
Neil Parmenter
David Skok
Sean Speer
Ilse Treurnicht
Tom Clark
Rebecca Jamieson
Tiff Macklem
Kim Thomassin
Satyamoorthy Kabilan
Tim O'Brien
Amanda Lang