Sean Speer

Prime Ministers of Canada Fellow

Sean is a sessional instructor and a Senior Fellow in Public Policy at the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy. He has served in different roles for the federal government, including as Senior Economic Adviser to former Prime Minister Stephen Harper. He is also an Associate Fellow at the R Street Institute in Washington, D.C., and was a Senior Fellow for fiscal policy at the Macdonald-Laurier Institute.

He has written extensively about Canadian policy issues, including taxes and government spending, retirement income security, social mobility, and economic competitiveness. His articles have appeared in national and regional newspapers in Canada, including The Globe and Mail and National Post, as well as in prominent U.S.-based publications, including the Wall Street Journal and National Review Online. He is also a regular commentator on television. Sean holds an M.A. in History from Carleton University and has studied economic history as a PhD candidate at Queen’s University.

Back to top