PPF and Action Canada introduce the 2018-2019 Fellows

Date: Friday June 8, 2018

action canada fellows

The Public Policy Forum and Action Canada are proud to announce the 2018-2019 Action Canada Fellows. Over the course of the year, the 16 Fellows will have a transformative experience by participating in five study tours and producing an in-depth policy report on an important issue to Canada.

This year’s cohort benefits from a new three-year partnership that combines Action Canada’s nearly 20 years of experience in leadership development and PPF’s more than three decades of expertise in public policy. This partnership will strengthen the fellowship program in its mandate to increase civic engagement and knowledge of Canada among some of the country’s most promising future leaders.

“The Public Policy Forum is proud to be associated with this amazing group of emerging leaders, and delighted to play a part in their leadership development and policy education,” said Edward Greenspon, President & CEO of PPF. “This year’s Action Canada theme will be the future of food. The Fellows will examine policy questions around agri-food, supply and trade, food security in Canada, innovation and technology in the agriculture and agri-food sector, food and human health, and sustainability. We look forward to learning from the fresh ideas the Fellows will generate through their deliberative process.”

“Since 2003, Action Canada has selected our country’s most promising emerging leaders and introduced them to every region of Canada — and to each other — through an immersive, year-long fellowship experience,” said Adam Goldenberg, a 2010 Action Canada Fellow and Chair of Action Canada’s Board of Directors. “This year’s cohort of Action Canada Fellows boldly continues that tradition of building leadership for Canada’s future. We are excited to welcome these extraordinary Canadians to our network.”

This year’s Action Canada Fellows are:

Zakaria Abdulle Matthew Klassen
Dr. Tahara Bhate Petros Kusmu
Dr. Masha Cemma Anna Laurence
Geneviève Chabot Madeleine Lyons
Sophie Gagnon Charlotte-Anne Malischewski
Shawn Grover Anne-Marie Rouleau
Sally Guy Karl Schwonik
Umang Pooja Khandelwal Julien Valmary

The Fellows will meet for the first time in Ottawa for the initial study tour between June 20 and 23. Read the Fellows’ full biographies on the Action Canada website.

PPF creates team to support Fellowship

To support the Fellows over the course of the year, PPF has brought together a team of leadership development experts under the direction of Anna Jahn, its new Director of Learning Programs and Action Canada Fellowship. The team also includes Jonathan Perron-Clow as Project Lead and Katherine Chirke as Program Manager and Coordinator.

About Action Canada

Imagine bringing together outstanding young Canadians whose talents, experiences and perspectives represent the mosaic of our country. Now imagine them connected by shared experiences in a national fellowship program that builds leadership for Canada’s future. This is Action Canada. More than an annual fellowship, it is an enduring network of dedicated leaders who support each other in working for Canada.

For more information, visit www.actioncanada.ca or follow us on Twitter: @actioncanada 
Or visit www.ppforum.ca or follow us on Twitter: @ppforumca

Back to top