PPF announces 2018 Peter Lougheed Award honourees

Date: Monday June 4, 2018

The Peter Lougheed Award for Leadership in Public Policy will be presented to four exemplary Western leaders being recognized for their extraordinary leadership and contribution to public policy and public discourse. The honourees, who will be celebrated at PPF’s Annual Western Dinner in Vancouver on Sept. 19, are:

  • Andrew Petter is the President of Simon Fraser University and professor in the School of Public Policy. Prior to joining SFU in 2010, he was professor in the Faculty of Law of the University of Victoria, where he served as Dean from 2001 to 2008. From 1991 to 2001, he served as B.C. MLA and held numerous cabinet portfolios, including Aboriginal Affairs, Forests, Intergovernmental Relations and Attorney General.
  • Sue Paish is the inaugural CEO of Canada’s Digital Technology Supercluster. She is thrilled to pioneer an exciting new model of technology creation, inter-organizational collaboration, job growth and economic development. For more than 35 years, Sue led transformation and innovation across professional services, healthcare and technology driving business growth, and leading large-scale organizational change.
  • Murad Al-Katib is thePresident and CEO of AGT Food and Ingredients Inc. A leader in international agri-food trading strategy and a financial thinker, Murad founded AGT Foods in 2001, building a Canadian start-up into a global, billion-dollar pulses, staple foods and ingredient company.
  • Sophie Pierre served her community of ‘Aqam (the St. Mary’s Indian Band) of the Ktunaxa Nation for 30 years, 26 as elected chief, and was the administrator of the Ktunaxa/Kinbasket Tribal Council for 25 years.

Event Details

Date: Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2018, 5 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Location: Marriott Vancouver Pinnacle Downtown
1128 West Hastings St, Pinnacle Ballroom

Get your tickets now.

About the Awards and Dinner

The Peter Lougheed Awards for Leadership in Public Policy are presented at the PPF’s Western Dinner, which takes place annually in different cities across Western Canada. The award honours exceptional Western Canadians who, like longtime Alberta Premier Peter Lougheed did, contribute to public policy in their province, region and country.

Back to top